“Is Michael Vaughan Right About BCCI?”

Michael Vaughan Disapproves India-Australia Schedule

  • Michael Vaughan expresses disapproval of India and Australia teams’ schedule after ICC World Cup 2023.
  • Questioned why players can’t rest after the tournament.
  • India and Australia to play a five-match T20I series just four days after the World Cup final.
  • Vaughan describes the scheduling as ‘complete greed and overkill’.
  • Cricket Australia rests seven players from the World Cup squad for the T20I series against India.

Michael Vaughan Criticizes India-Australia Schedule After ICC World Cup 2023

Former England cricketer Michael Vaughan expressed his disapproval of the schedule of the India and Australia teams after the conclusion of the ICC World Cup 2023. Vaughan questioned why players can’t be given the chance to rest after the tournament. The Rohit Sharma-led team will face the Pat Cummins-led team in the final match of the World Cup 2023 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, November 19. The two teams will compete against each other in a five-match T20I series later this month.

Michael Vaughan took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to state that it doesn’t sit right with him that the two World Cup finalists will start a T20 series against each other just four days later. Vaughan described the scheduling as ‘complete greed and overkill’.

Cricket Australia (CA) earlier announced the 14-member squad for the T20I series against India. The selectors rested seven players from the World Cup squad, while David Warner, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Adam Zampa retained spots. Australia head coach Andrew McDonald will also take a break. Assistant coach Andre Borovec will take charge of the team for the first time. The series will kick off in Visakhapatnam, followed by matches in Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Nagpur, and Hyderabad, respectively.

The first T20I of the five-match series between India and Australia is scheduled to be played in Visakhapatnam on November 23, Thursday. It’s worth mentioning that England faced Australia in an ODI series a few days after winning the T20 World Cup last year.

Australia T20 squad: Matthew Wade (c), Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Source: CricketAddictor

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top